Easter is Coming!

20 Apr

This might be the first time I’m posting a holiday-themed recipe before the actual holiday. You could say that I’m pleased with myself.

Since Easter is this weekend, I decided to bake carrot hazelnut cupcakes for a visiting friend of mine and a family friend a couple of days ago. I’ve been getting good results from my new baking book, “The Golden Book of Baking” so when I found this recipe I decided to go with it.

From what my family friend  said, the cupcakes don’t taste very much like carrots. It’s moist but the cinnamon, nutmeg, and ground ginger dominate the cupcakes (but in a good way!). Having tried the cupcakes later I have to agree that he’s right.

The coarsely grated hazelnuts were a great addition. I wouldn’t have expected it, but hazelnuts are delicious. It’s probably why I enjoyed these round chocolate balls before; they were coated with hazelnuts but I never knew what they were. But I should have known that hazelnuts are delicious. Take Nutella for example. This spread is absolutely heavenly. I can spread it on anything!

Lastly, the cream cheese frosting was literally the icing on the cake too. The cupcakes come out denser than I would have liked, but baking is a learning process.

I’m not sure if you really want to know the recipe, but if you’re curious you can comment below or email me at: nell.notebook@yahoo.com. I would be happy to share with a fellow baker. :)

Carrot Cupcake Recipe

Adapted from “The Golden Book of Baking”

Ingredients

Cake

  • 2 ½ cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 ½ tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp ground nutmeg
  • ½ tsp ground cinnamon
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
    • Healthy version: ½ vegetable oil, ½ cup unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1 ¼ cups firmly packed brown sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 2 cups firmly packed coarsely grated carrots
  • 1 cup hazelnuts, coarsely chopped

Homemade Frosting:

  • 1 package (3 ounces) cream cheese, softened
  • 2 tbl butter, softened
  • 1 tbl orange extract
  • 2 cups confectioners’ (icing) sugar

Easy Frosting

  • store-bought cream cheese frosting

 

Procedure

Cake

  1. Preheat oven to 350F. Line two 12-cup muffin pans with paper liners.
  2. Mix flour, ginger, nutmeg, cinnamon, baking powder,baking soda, and salt in a large bowl.
  3. In another large bowl, beat the oil, brown sugar, and eggs with an electric mixer at a high speed until thick and creamy. If using applesauce, beat in this after mixture is creamy.
  4. With the mixer on low speed, beat in carrots and hazelnuts. Add in mixed dry ingredients.
  5. Spoon 2 – 2 ½ tbl of batter into each muffin cup.
  6. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until tooth pick comes out clean from center of cupcake. Check oven frequently since each oven bakes differently.
  7. Cool cupcakes in pan for 10 minutes before taking cupcakes out. Cool completely before frosting.

Orange Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. Beat the cream cheese, butter, and orange extract in a medium bowl until fluffy. Beat in confectioners’ sugar.
  2. Using a simple butter knife, spread a small dollop of frosting onto each cupcake. Or if you have a piping bag, pipe frosting onto cupcakes.
Leave a Reply

