The Chocoholic Supreme

10 Mar

Warning: the following images may prompt immediate cravings for chocolate, desserts, and sweets and anything that is supposed to be “after dinner”.  For women who are pregnant, these cravings may even be stronger and possibly stranger, like chocolate covered vegetables. Depending on the individual, these cravings might last long and call for immediate gratification while for others the cravings will be short-lived.

The Chocoholic Supreme without frosting

I can’t think of anyone who doesn’t like chocolate. But this may be because I’ve caught the “chocolate bug” or jumped onto the “chocolate bandwagon”.

I used to doubt the power of chocolate. Cover up anything with chocolate and people will love it? Nah, no way.”

Oh, but I change my mind. Chocolate indeed has this way with people. It’s not a in-your-face kind of power. It’s more of a subtle, sneaky power. It just charms its way into your heart – stomach-first.

Because this family friend means a lot to me, I decided to bake him a special chocolate dessert for his birthday. Just weeks before I had been thumbing around a new cookbook The Golden Book of Baking for recipes I wanted to try. With a reason now to put on my apron and become the mad baker that I am, I quickly flipped through the pages with the yellow post-it notes to a page titled, “The Tricolored Cake”.

It looked interesting enough. It was a sponge cake split into three layers (brown, red, and yellow) with a light vanilla glaze. But somehow I didn’t feel like this was the cake for him so I flipped around the section.

Two pages back, I stumbled upon a page titled, “The Chocoholic Supreme”. Featured on the page opposite the recipe was a beautifully frosted chocolate cake. My first thought was, “This chocolate cake looks like any other chocolate cake. Big deal.” And after reading the recipe, I didn’t notice anything special about it.

The first clue should have been its name though. I mean, who names a cake “The Chocoholic Supreme” if it’s not going to be the chocolatest, chocolate cake ever baked up?

I did notice that when combining the ingredients the batter was not as fluid as most cake batter. Then when I baked it for 40 minutes and peaked in the oven and saw that it hadn’t risen very much (like a tart) I knew that either I messed up or the cake was unusual. Looking back at the picture and the short frosted cake that appeared on the page, I realized the cake was just different.

When my family friend came over Monday night, I finally got to taste the difference I had noticed.

The Chocoholic Supreme (slices)

As I cut the cake (I decided to keep it single-layered), the cake crumbled a bit but the inside was moist and dense. When I actually tasted the cake, the dark chocolate with orange zest jumped out. The cake was rich in a way because it was dense underneath its crumbling exterior yet the orange zest countered the intense dark chocolate. It was amazing.

So if you ever need to entertain for chocolate fans, then I recommend introducing them to the Chocoholic Supreme. Once you meet this cake, you and your guests will never want to say goodbye to it. People will fight for the left-overs.

The Chocoholic Supreme 2

The Chocoholic Supreme

Taken from “The Golden Book of Baking”

Ingredients

Cake

  • 8 oz (250 g) dark chocolate, coarsely chopped
  • 2/3 cup (100g) all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup (30g) almonds, finely ground (I recommend toasting the almonds before grinding up)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup (125g) unsalted butter, softened
  • 3/ cup (150g) granulated sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 3 tbl orange liquer (or 1 -2 tbl fresh orange zest)

Chocolate Frosting

  • 8 oz (250g) dark chocolate, coarsely chopped
  • 1/2 cup (125g) unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup (60g) orange marmalade
  • 2 tbl orange liqueur (or 1 tbl fresh orange zest)

Procedure

Cake

  1. Preheat oven to 350F (180C). Butter and flour a 9-inch springform pan.
  2. Melt the chocolate in a double broiler over barely simmering water. Set aside to cool.
  3. Mix the flour, baking powder, and salt in medium bowl.
  4. Beat the butter and sugar in a large bowl with an electric mixer at medium speed until pale and creamy. Add egg yolks one at a time, beating well after each addition.
  5. With mixer on low speed, gradually beat in the melted chocolate, then dry ingredients and orange liqueur.
  6. With mixer on high speed, beat the egg whites in a separate large bowl until stiff peaks form. Use a large rubber spatula to fold them into the chocolate mixture in the first large bowl.
  7. Spoon the batter into the prepared pan.
  8. Bake for 40-50 minutes, or until springy to touch and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Cool cake in pan for 5 minutes. Turn out onto a rack and let cool completely.

Chocolate Frosting

  1. Melt the chocolate and butter in a double broiler over barely simmering water. Set aside to cool enough to spread, but make sure it doesn’t set.
  2. Warm the marmelade and liqueur in a small saucepan over low heat.
  3. Split the cake horizontally. Place one layer on a serving plate. Spread with marmelade and a quarter of the frosting. Top with the remaining layer and spread the top and sides with the remaining frosting.

Note: I didn’t add orange marmalade or orange liqueur to my frosting so I just melted the chocolate and butter. I did add 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon to give it a little “kick”.

Mini slice of Chocoholic Supreme

 

One Response to “The Chocoholic Supreme”

  1. My Grandparents' Kitchen March 10, 2011 at 9:41 pm #

    Forget love – I’d rather fall in chocolate! ~ Sandra J. Dykes

Leave a Reply

