What’s Up, Doc?

16 Feb

A Homemade Life by Molly WizenbergWell, not that you’ll be calling my “Doc” any time soon, but I just thought I’d update you on what I’ve been doing lately.

For my 18th birthday (Whoo! – Guess who’s a legal adult now?), my fellow foodie French friend Coline gave me “A Homemade Life” by the Orangette blogger Molly Wizenberg. After reading just the first couple of pages – I stopped after the blueberry-raspberry pound cake recipe – I felt sorry that I have been neglecting my blog. So here I am once more, typing away.

Though instead of typing out what I’ve been doing lately, I decided to post up pictures. Hope you enjoy. :)

Pancake People

For Senior Seminar, I read Carr's article "Is Google Making Us Stupid?" and came across the phrase "pancake people". I had to stop and doodle a little pancake man with a bottle of syrup next to him.

Chinese Mushrooms

I received a whole bag of dried Chinese mushrooms last Saturday. I've never used these in cooking before ... Does anyone know how to use them?

 

Peach Mango Pie

Can you guess what's the unnatural food in the picture? :) Got it at Jolly Bee's drive-thru Saturday night, and to be honest, their banana-lanka pie is much better.(If you don't know, Jolly Bee's serves Filipino fast food. It's nothing like the real stuff by the way - surprise, surprise.)

Ramen

A lovely Sunday lunch at Japan Town. There's egg, pork, seaweed, (immitation) crab, cucumbers, carrots, and mushrooms on top of cold ramen. YUM.

Viennese Pockets

Among other things, this daily calendar (which I received from my friends for my birthday) showcases a new cookie recipe/variety each day. Somehow I get the feeling my friends are going to be wanting me to make some of these cookies. And you know know, I'm just as happy to :P

Cook's Illustrated

I don't know if this always happens, but my Cook's Illustrated issues for Jan/Feb and March/April came in at the same time. (Curious, aye?) But as I read through the issues last night, I stumbled upon a whole wheat sandwich bread recipe I want to try as well as a split pea soup recipe, a potato galette recipe, and good tips for baking cookies.

Valentine's Day Candy

Just some of the Valentine's Day candy and cards I got. Ironically, the fortune cookie came a day later. Does this mean I have more luxury coming? Haha

And there you have it: my week of culinary inspirations. :)

Leave a Reply

