Gingerbread Houses Were Made for December

17 Dec

The blueprints and gingerbread house

In the words of my college counselor, I am taking a “university level Great Books” class, also known as Senior Seminar. In this class, I am given 100 hours to do something interdisciplinary that I have never done before. I originally thought of:

a) Making a telescope with real glass
b) Making a miniature, but human-sized planetarium
c) Making kites of different materials in different geometric shapes
d) Constructing a famous SF structure out of gingerbread

Well, when I factored in money, time, supplies, knowledge – and well, reality? – I ended up crossing out the first two:

a) Making a telescope with real glass
b) Making a miniature, but human-sized planetarium
c) Making kites of different materials in different geometric shapes
d) Constructing a famous SF structure out of gingerbread

And then when I factored in my REAL interest, the list looked like this:

a) Making a telescope with real glass
b) Making a miniature, but human-sized planetarium
c) Making kites of different materials in different geometric shapes
d) Constructing a famous SF structure out of gingerbread

And that was how I came up with my final plan: construct something out of gingerbread!

But what exactly? Ah, that question was easily answered: San Francisco’s Painted Ladies.

So, that’s what I’m going to be doing during December – making three of the houses – because January won’t give me enough time with schoolwork and all that.

I think the best part of the project is going to be holding a baking class for De Marillac Academy students, who if you don’t know come from San Francisco’s under-served neighborhoods. These students attend the middle school for free because their parents cannot afford to send them to school. My high school is technically the sister school, so I thought that I would follow in the Lasallian and Vincentian footsteps and help the middle school students out. After all, baking is an art and art is important to a child’s development.

Since I don’t have all the financial means to buy all the supplies and ingredients, I’m writing letters to Safeway, Lucky’s, possibly Trader Joe’s, and possibly Sur la Table. (I’ve taken several baking classes so maybe they would be willing to donate supplies to a worthy cause?) Anyway, I’m hoping this works out because this would be a great opportunity for these kids. They deserve it.

Anyway, since this is officially my last school day of 2010 – as someone reminded me the other day – I am now out for Christmas Break. Life’s good. :)

Leave a Reply

