My Last Day of Summer Vacation

23 Aug

It is already here: the last day of summer vacation.

This is what dawns on me as I wake up at 7:40 am from a rather random dream of negotiating with someone. Not wanting to resume the strange dream, I manage to stay awake by reading Kitchen Chinese the novel about food, family, and finding yourself written by Ann Mah.

I read a couple of chapters with the local news turned on in the background and find myself amused with the main character (Isabelle Lee) and her adventures of going back to China.

After about an hour, I trudge to the kitchen – still in  my pjs – to eat some Corn Flakes, oatmeal, and toast – my usual breakfast at Davis. Once my mouth is tired of chewing I start to realize that two hours have passed and I’ve done nothing remarkable on my last day of summer vacation.

But then I think, “Well, this is how I want to spend my last day. I want to relax and kick back before the hustle and bustle of school life comes back and my nights are filled with endless amounts of homework. When is the next time that I’ll get to wake up and be lazy like this?”

And so, this is how I’m spending my day. Granted I’ve actually made a simple plan for the rest of the day.

My mom doesn’t know it yet, but I’m planning to make a spaghetti with meat sauce and fresh garlic bread. I was going to make meatballs, but those didn’t turn out so well before … The meatballs were lumpy and falling apart. If I have time, I’m going to stop by the local deli and pick up some turkey meatballs because they are delicious.

So right now, I’m making the bread for the garlic bread. According to Reinhart’s Artisan Breads Everyday, I am making Pain à l’Ancienne Rustic Bread, which makes  2 large ciabatta loaves, 3 small ciabatta loaves, or 6 to 8 mini baguettes. I don’t know if this is what is usually used for garlic bread, but I’ve always liked ciabatta bread and figured I could easily convert it into garlic ciabatta bread. I will, however, most likely shape the dough into the mini baguettes so that I can use the other baguettes for sandwiches sometime during this week.

I’m actually glad I’m starting with the bread now because by the time I realize that I want to make bread for dinner, it’s too late. (Sometimes I start at 4pm – not smart). Still, a lot of things can go wrong so whether or not the bread turns out well, I’ll let you know and upload so pictures too.

As for the spaghetti, we’ve got noodles at home; I have a recipe for spicy tomato sauce (like a pomodoro sauce); and I’ll try to pick up the meatballs later this afternoon.

I’m excited for the rest of the day seeing as I have something to do now. Hopefully I’ll not look back and think, “Why did I do that on my last day of summer vacation???” But thinking about it right now, I don’t think I will be doing that. :)

Anyway, I hope you enjoy this August day. I know that in San Francisco they have actually called today a “Spare the Air Day” because the weather is supposed to get into the 80s today and mid 90s inland. It’s going to be a warm day! It’s finally summer by the Bay.

Leave a Reply

