A Sucessful Bread Adventure and a Special Dinner

23 Aug

So if you read my post earlier this afternoon, then you would know that I had a special evening planned for my mom and I. But, in case you didn’t have time to read it, I’ll just tell you now that you didn’t miss too much. I basically just talked (or wrote) about how today is my last day of summer vacation and that in the morning I spent it quite lazily. Then when 10:30am came, I was in the kitchen being productive!

Making the Baguettes

The Baguette Dough Sliced

The Baguette Dough Sliced - can you see the little pockets of gas that the yeast left? :D When I make bread this is what is usually lacking.

Single Raw Baguette

Single Raw Baguette (total length was about 9 inches)

Raw Baguettes on Sheet

Raw Baguettes on Sheet

The Finished Baguettes

Finished Baguettes

Finished Baguettes

Finished Baguettes (Triplets!)

Finished Baguettes (Triplets!)

Baguette Beauties

Baguette Beauties - they baked perfect for me!

The Dinner: Spaghetti Bolognese with Bruschetta

My Homemade Bruschetta

Homemade Bruschetta - This is where I used one mini baguette. Perfect for the hot weather!

Spaghetti Bolognese

Spaghetti Bolognese with Bruschetta

The Recipes

  1. Spaghetti Bolognese (adapted from Martha Stewart)
  2. Bruschetta (adapted from Giada De Laurentiis, Food Network)
  3. Mini Baguettes (Peter Reinhart’s Artisan Breads Everyday)
    *Note: I can send you the recipe if you really want to know, but I’m running short on time at the moment to type it all out.

Anyway, I think I spent my day being productive, don’t you?

And last but not least, goodbye, Summer Vacation, it was nice seeing you again. And this year, we had an unforgettable visit. :)

Leave a Reply

