Moving to the Countryside … Temporarily

30 Jun

Hi there.

I’m not too sure if you’ve noticed, but your email inbox (for you, subscribers) has been void of any updates from me. It’s not that I didn’t want to post, but time has just flown by without me knowing.

You may or may not remember that I wrote about how I’d miss the Bay when I went to Davis.

Well, I miss it.

Farmer's Market Archway

Not extremely as much as I thought, but there are certain things that I miss about the city. Corner bakeries, restaurants and shops being open on Sunday, a nice couch to kick back and relax in, my baking ware just to name a few.

Most importantly, an easy access to the internet. It’s been terrible having to go down a floor to use the computer lab (an empty dorm furnished with six Apple desktops) or head into the common lounge to hook my laptop up with a cord to the router. At the moment, I’m sitting in the computer lab with a cord. There’s no wireless in the dorms.

I don’t think I mentioned why I am here. In a nutshell, it’s a science research based residential program for students my age. We listen to one  long lecture every morning from 9 am to 11:30 am, and then go to our research lab from 1pm to 5pm for the first two weeks. No dozing off during lectures either because there is a lecture exam the Thursday after July 4th. Fun, I know.

By next Tuesday, I’ll be working in the lab full time from 9 to 5. I guess you could say I have an internship. Sort of.

In the lab I’m working in, I am analyzing tomato roots and the genes that control the physical appearance of it. I’m also comparing the wild to the domestic tomatoes. I haven’t officially started my own project yet; I’ve only been helping the Grad students with their projects.

Anyway, here are some photos of my trip to the local Davis Farmer’s Market last Wednesday.

Apple Tarts

Davis Wine

Sweet Onions

Davis Creamery Sign

Davis Central Park

Worm Products

Fresh Bread

Fresh Fruits

Fresh Produce

Hopefully, I can keep you all updated on my whereabouts and scientific discoveries.

Until the my next post, hope you have fun celebrating July 4th!

4 Responses to “Moving to the Countryside … Temporarily”

  1. Mary June 30, 2010 at 11:16 pm #

    Wow, no wi-fi in the dorms – that surprises me! A friend took me to the Davis market a couple years ago and I really enjoyed visiting it. You captured it beautifully. I’d like a double-scoop of the lime-basil and strawberry now. I also remember my dollar stretched farther there than it does at the Ferry Building.

    I hope your tomato research goes well. Looking forward to you updates on scientific discoveries and I hope you also find some fun discoveries outside the lab

    When you’re back home and baking, here’s a website I’m really loving. I think you may too: http://www.cannelle-vanille.blogspot.com/

    Happy summer, Nell!

    • Nell July 4, 2010 at 9:28 am #

      I was surprised too! Apparently they offer wi-fi in the dorms only during the regular school year.

      The market was nice, but a lot smaller than the one at the Ferry Building. But I have to say that the ice cream flavors were a nice change from the ordinary. That’s when I knew I wasn’t in San Francisco anymore.

      I checked out the blog and it’s amazing. I’m always impressed by the clear, artistic photos. I’ll be browsing through more when I get the chance.

      Hope you’re having a great summer too! And, Happy July 4th!

  2. anniespickns July 1, 2010 at 6:53 am #

    Hi Nell,
    Just picked up your blog this AM and loved seeing the pics of the Davis FM, a market I am very familiar with having lived in Davis for over 30 yrs. Although I don’t live there now I still visit often. Glad to hear that Davis is treating you well.

    Do write more on your research. I follow a lot of ag related posts, mostly for my own education and would definitely be interesting in hearing more.

    If you ever need a kitchen to bake in let me know. I’m just 15 minutes away and would love to share my space with a fellow baker.

    Have a great summer!

    • Nell July 4, 2010 at 9:35 am #

      Hi Annie,

      I’ll be updating my blog as often as I can. I’m excited to be learning about tomato genes and helping my professor and Grad researchers mapping out the tomato genome. I’m surprised that no one yet has really explored the genes of tomatoes yet especially since they are really popular to grow. It’s a project that my professor says will take several years.

      Thank you for the kind offer. If I ever need a kitchen, I’ll be contacting you. :)

      Happy July 4th!

Leave a Reply

