My Almond Brittle Adventure

15 Jun

Went to the SF Ferry Building again today. Seems like I just can’t get enough of the Embarcadero area! I seriously love this place though. It’s particularly attractive when the sun’s out and the Ferry Farmer’s Market stalls are out.

As I was sampling the delectable goodies among the stalls, I happened to munch upon almond brittle.

It was delicious.

Dark Chocolate Almond Brittle - Close Up

Unlike the previous almond brittle that I have had from the store, this one was not as hard probably because it was not processed as much. I’m not sure but I’d like to think it was at least.

I couldn’t actually see as many whole almonds in there as some of the major brands, but the almond flavor was still dominant. It was thinner than most kinds too. Either way, I couldn’t leave without buying a 4 ounce package of the dark chocolate almond brittle.

When I run out of almond brittle, I’m going to have to make some. Any one have any recommended recipes?Dark Chocolate Almond Brittle

I haven’t much else to say except that I absolutely love going to the Ferry Building. The specialty foodie restaurants and fresh produce are simply irresistible!

If you go, check out  G. L. Alfieri’s Fruit and Nut Stand. At the stand you can find an assortment of nuts, nut butters, almond brittle varieties, and more. Reasonably price though not cheap.

To order from G. L. Alfieri online, click here.

Just remember that the farmer’s market is there on Tuesday, Thursdays, and weekends from 10 am to 2 pm. Plan wisely!

3 Responses to “My Almond Brittle Adventure”

  1. Theresa September 5, 2012 at 11:00 am #

    On a recent trip to San Francisco I bought 5 packs of this (think it was exactly the same brand) as pressies for friends back home. They did not make it home… Oh well, they’ll never know!

    Did you manage to find a similar recipe? I know whatever i make won’t ever be as good as this but i really am craving some!

    • Nell October 4, 2012 at 12:36 am #

      Hi Theresa,

      I never searched for a recipe but now that I’m away from SF I miss that almond brittle. It was SO good. Let me know if you find a good recipe and I’ll do the same for you. :)

      Best,
      Nell

  2. Diana September 27, 2012 at 11:48 am #

    I also bought a pack of this last week on my trip to San Francisco, looking for a recipe I found your blog, all I have to say this is the most delicious almond brittle I have eaten and I can’t wait to go back to SF and get more of this candy.

Leave a Reply

