Miss Spontanetiy & Strawberry Tartlets

26 Apr

Strawberry Tartlet CrustSpring is here and the weather was absolutely perfect, so I thought to myself on my day off, “Why don’t I see what I can make today?”

I took out my Tartine baking book and mused through the glossy photos of polished desserts, smiles of the bakers, and the endless breakfast pastries. I finally settled upon Tartine’s Banana Cream Puffs.

I knew that I had bananas somewhere in the fridge and cream I had made recently so I thought that this would be easy to make. And though my plans were interrupted by bananas that were no longer bananas and cream that had hardened because the plastic wrap came off the bowl, the banana cream puffs came out pretty good … except they turned into strawberry tartlets!

Haha. This is so typical of me really. Sometimes this is what spontaneity does to me, but I have to say the tartlets were still really good.Assembling the Strawberry Tartlets

I did use Tartine’s Flaky Pastry Dough recipe to make two mini tartlets – I save the rest of the dough in the freezer for next time – but the instead of the pastry cream recipe that used whole milk – I had none – I simply used heavy whipping cream to make vanilla whipped cream.

I sliced about eight medium strawberries and sprinkled about a tablespoon of sugar on them in a small glass bowl to start the juices flowing. For the crust, I melted two Hershey kisses (dark chocolate), spread it over the bottom, and sprinkled some sliced almonds on top of the melted chocolate. Once the crust and vanilla cream were both chilled, I assembled them together.


Strawberry Tartlets

So I guess they turned out alright for a spontaneous creation, don’t you think? :)

Also as a last note, I just received my Bon Appetit May Issue and there are a ton of desserts that are calling out my name, so I’ll post soon asking for your votes/opinions on the next Bon Appetit Chllange!

Have a great week, everyone!

Leave a Reply

