Easter Sunday: Cream Puffs with Lemon-Cream Filling

4 Apr

Lemon Cream PuffsI am glad that the cream puffs won the vote because making these has been such a great learning experience.

You might be thinking, “Learning experience? … Doesn’t that mean something went wrong …. ?”

Ah, but not this time. I learned while making these simply because I’ve never made cream puffs before. Sure, I had attended the Sur La Table summer secession last year when the cream puffs were made, but my group was not assigned to make them. All I saw was the delicious-looking (and tasting) result.

So when the vote came in, I now had a reason to bake the cream puffs myself! And not just cream puffs, lemon-cream filling cream puffs! Bon Appetit chose well for their April/Easter issue.

Since I had never made cream puffs before, I read and read and re-read the procedure dozens of times. Strangely enough, I was methodical and did no improvising. Whole milk? Yep. Grated fresh lemon peel? Sure thing. Heavy whipping cream? Got it right here.

And boy, was I happy that I did. The cream puffs turned out beautiful and tasty. I wish I could share the puffs with all of you, but to taste these lemon cream puffs, I guess you’ll have to make them yourselves. For the recipe, please check out my previous post here. (Although, I must mention that the filling didn’t quite fill all the puffs, so I’d recommend making two batches of the lemon filling.)

If, on the other hand, you took on my April Bon Appetit challenge, then I encourage you to leave a comment or email me at nell.notebook@yahoo.com.

Once again, Happy Easter!

Lemon Cream Puffs

2 Responses to “Easter Sunday: Cream Puffs with Lemon-Cream Filling”

  1. Mary April 4, 2010 at 7:47 pm #

    Perfection – could be the cover of Bon App├ętit! Thanks for posting the update.

  2. Des April 7, 2010 at 8:55 pm #

    Tasted this delicious lemon cream puffs and it is really good. I am not much of a dessert person but this one is just the perfect bite size for me. My co workers enjoyed the lemon tangy taste of the cream. Great job!

Leave a Reply

