Bon Appetit Challenge 2: Easter Lemon Cream Puffs or Strawberry Poptarts

25 Mar
Strawberry Poptarts

Strawberry Poptarts

Easter Lemon Cream Puffs

Easter Lemon Cream Puffs

Ah, well the first Bon Appetit challenge (British Flapjacks) went very well – the prep and the product so I’ve decided to keep with the Bon Appetit monthly challenges.

When the April 2010 issue of Bon Appetit finally arrived two days ago, I quickly plopped down on my bed sun shining through the blinds and started to scan from beginning to end. Though I did not have time to actually read through all the stories, I looked at every single recipe in there and decided that two recipes in particular were just calling my name: the Easter Cream Puffs and the Homemade Strawberry Pop-Tarts.

As you can see in the pictures that I scanned from the magazine, these two treats look deliciously mouthwatering. However, there are differences between the two as well. The lemon cream puffs are more on the fancy Easter brunch side while the strawberry poptarts are more of a family quick-fix snack. This is what you’ll have to keep in mind when you vote for the next Bon Appetit Challenge! Remember, you get a week to vote until next Friday, and the following weekend I’ll bake up the winning desert and then post up the recipe for all of you to try!

8 Responses to “Bon Appetit Challenge 2: Easter Lemon Cream Puffs or Strawberry Poptarts”

  1. Des March 25, 2010 at 7:30 pm #

    I vote for Strawberry Poptarts!

  2. Mary March 25, 2010 at 7:41 pm #

    I second that! I tore out the strawberry poptarts recipe right away when my copy arrived. Whether they win or lose, I’m thinking of making them now that strawberries are starting to appear at the Farmer’s Market. Looking forward to seeing whatever you make.

  3. AJ March 26, 2010 at 12:57 am #

    I’ll vote for the Cream Puffs…pate a choux can take you in all kinds of directions.

  4. teresa March 26, 2010 at 11:40 am #

    Those are 2 recipes that I wanted to make from that magazine too! I vote for the cream puffs because I am personally much more likely to make the pop-tarts (so maybe if you tell me how you like the cream puffs I’ll make them myself. . . but if you don’t – probably not).

  5. secretcharm24 March 28, 2010 at 12:21 pm #

    Is this really Julia Powell’s WordPress?

    • notebookworthy March 28, 2010 at 5:41 pm #

      No, I am just a fan of Julia Powell’s. I wrote about her in a previous post here.

  6. Miggy March 29, 2010 at 1:02 am #

    I’d LOVE to have a taste of those cream puffs!

  7. JJ April 2, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

    POP TARTS!!!

Leave a Reply

