Double Treat: Omnivore Bookstore & Peter Reinhart!

2 Mar

Omnivore Event
March 5, 9:30 am:  Peter Reinhart

I am so excited for because in less than 36 hours I will be at San Francisco’s acclaimed Omnivore (Culinary/Baking) Book Store on Cesar Chavez Street. Why might I be so excited to be there at 9 a.m.? Well, because I finally get to meet and talk to Peter Reinhart, author of The Bread Baker’s Apprentice (and many other books)! He is coming to the Bay Area to talk about baking breakfast breads.

Complete List of Omnivore Events

At the same time, I am extremely nervous to meet him. Online it mentions that visitors can “bake some to share, if [they] feel moved!” I would love to bake something and bring it there, but I do not know if my baking skills are quite up to par to present it to the Bread Master himself! I was considering on baking cinnamon rolls using his recipe, but I thought that maybe that might be worse since he would know what the cinnamon rolls should taste like. Eh, I might just have to figure out something else. If you have any ideas, please leave a comment.

But anyway, I just wanted to share my anxious feelings as well as invite you to come out to this visionary bookstore. I have to say that I did not know that a cullinary bookstore like Omnivore existed. Then again, this is San Francisco I am talking about, so this should not come as much of a surprise. Still, I am quite interested to explore the bookstore itself.

Omnivore sells vintage books and signed books as well as newly released books. If you are looking for letter by M. F. K. Fisher, then you have found the correct place! These letters range from $50 – $200 so depending on how much you want to spend, you can have your pick.

So there you have it: a great upcoming event (Reinhart) and a lovely new bookstore (Omnivore).

And of course, I will write about Friday’s meeting and post up the pictures that I take. :)

One Response to “Double Treat: Omnivore Bookstore & Peter Reinhart!”

  1. Bianca March 5, 2010 at 5:40 pm #

    I am excited for you! Let us know how it goes:)

Leave a Reply

