Breakfast Means Waffles, Omelettes, and Cinnamon Rolls!

16 Jan

Nothing beats coming home after a hectic week at school even with all the love my friends show me. There’s just something about the good old familiar-ness of home: the smell as I walk through the door, the expected squeaks when I walk on the wood floors, the constant nagging meows coming from my tabby cat, and especially the much appreciated hug and smile I get from my mom. :)

The next morning after sleeping in my bed again is even better because I wake up to mom cooking us breakfast. I stroll into the kitchen with sleep eyes still and offer to help her so we end up working together.

This morning was really no different. As I awoke, I found my mom preparing us omelets, so I decided to bake some cinnamon rolls from the dough I had, and then make some waffles too. It truly is amazing how much our tiny apartment kitchen can handle. (and stove/oven for that matter too!) Because I do like you, readers, oh so much, I’ll post the recipes for the bacon-onion omelet my mom made. The cinnamon roll recipe can be found in my previous post here. The waffles were simply made from a store bought mix and made using the Big Boss Grill (an info-mercial I got from a friend). I prefer to skip the syrup and butter and spread strawberry yogurt on mine. Yumm! :P

Mother Nell’s Bacon Onion Omelet

An original recipe that is sure to make you smile. Healthier alternatives in orange brown front.

Ingredients

  • 3 large eggs (or about a cup of egg beaters or egg whites)
  • 1/4 diced red onion (white or yellow is fine too)
  • a splash of milk
  • 1/4 cup of vegetable oil
  • 4 slices of bacon, sliced into 1/4 in pieces (or turkey bacon)
  • 3 large white mushrooms, sliced
  • pepper, to taste
  • salt, to taste

Procedure

  1. In a large cup or bowl, whisk together the eggs and milk until thoroughly combined and fluffy. Set aside.
  2. Heat pan (we used a wok) with the vegetable oil on medium heat. Once the oil is hot (2 minutes later), add the onions first until they are slightly browned. Then add the bacon slices that are slices again in 1/4 inch pieces and the sliced mushrooms. Cook mixture until fragrant and bacon is slightly browned. Add pepper and salt to taste, and little more oil if the oil is all soaked up so that the egg will not stick to the pan.
  3. Pour in egg and milk mixture and turn the stove to low-medium heat. Cook until the egg firms up and the top has a shallow pool of uncooked egg, about 5-6 minutes. Keep a close watch.
  4. With your spatula, lift the sides so the egg does not burn. Then fold one side over the other side as if you were folding a piece of paper in half. Cook omelet until it is fully cooked with no leaking egg mixture; takes about 2-3 minutes.

I hope you enjoy the recipe. It is the same one that my mom made me today. :) As always I love to hear your comments, feedback, and photos so feel free to email or comment below!

Leave a Reply

