From My Turkey Table to Your Christmas Table: Holiday Recipes

19 Dec

Phew! I finally have time to sit down and write to you guys! I know that it has been a while, and trust me I miss writing as much as I miss baking.

My Thanksgiving break only allowed a short fleeting moment for me to relax. I was basically in the kitchen baking like a mad woman. I had 1 apple pie, 4 pumpkin pies, 2 galettes, 1 apple strudel puff pastry, 1 large batch of FRESH dinner rolls and 1 batch of snickerdoodles to make. Our actual night-before Thanksgiving dinner only had 1 apple pie, 1 pumpkin pie, and one batch of fresh dinner rolls, but the rest for the family in Los Angeles. Mom and I decided to fly down and visit Lola (Filipino for “grandmother”). We hadn’t seen her in over a year! It was good to see her even though she was a bit sick.

Anyhow, the dessert that got rave reviews was my apple pie. My dad, who – if you knew him would know that – doesn’t eat more than one slice of any dessert let alone have his slice with ice cream, had 1 slice of pumpkin pie, tried a small piece of the apple pie, and actually went back for a large slice of apple pie and topped it with a huge chunk of vanilla ice cream! It was absolutely amazing! What was probably more amazing was that our tiny, tiny kitchen apartment and oven (the miniature kind) was able to accommodate all that food. I now deem my oven “the little oven that could”. It was working from 8 am to 6 pm.

Since I think my dad’s dessert miracle moment was astounding, I’ve decided to post up my all-American apple pie recipe that I got from my Caucasian friend’s grandmother who grew up in Idaho. This is about the most American thanksgiving I’ve ever had: homemade pies, mashed potatoes, FRESH dinner rolls, and stuffing! And since my friend, Michelle, decided that the rolls were her favorite, I’ll post the recipe up too. They turned out soft, fluffy, and tasty! I suggest that you use them for your Christmas dinner/party. They are sure to be a hit!

Grandmother’s All-American Apple Pie

Thanks to my friend’s grandmother and her ancient family cookbook

Ingredients

For one 9-inch Pie

  • Two 9-inch pie crusts (can be found in the freezer section of grocery, or make it yourself from this recipe)
  • 3/4 cup sugar (both white and brown will work)
  • 1/4 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • Dash of salt
  • 6 cups thinly sliced pared tart apples or 6 medium apples (Green Granny Smith apples work best)
  • 2 tablespoons margarine or butter (if you use really sweet Fuji apples then omit this)
  • Aluminum foil
  • *For Dutch Apple Pie: 1/2 cup whipping cream
  • Procedure

    1. Preheat oven to 425.
    2. Mix sugar, flour, nutmeg, cinnamon, and salt. Stir in apples, coating each piece.
    3. Turn into pastry-lined pie plate. Dot with margarine/butter. If you have sweet Fuji apples, then you don’t need the butter.
    4. Cover with top crust that has slits cut in it; seal and flute. Cover edges with 3-inch strips of aluminum foil so that the edges of the crust won’t burn.
    5. Bake pie for about 30 minutes. Remove foil. Bake pie for another 15 minutes until crust is golden brown and juice begins to bubble through the slits in crust.
    6. *For a Dutch Apple Pie: Make extra large slits, take 5 minutes out of baking time; and before end of baking, pour 1/2 cup whipping cream through slits in top crust.
    7. Serve warm with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream! Enjoy!

    Dinner Roll

    Okay, so here’s the dinner roll recipe that I promised. This was my first time making them, but I was not disappointed! These turned out so soft and fluffy that I was so proud of myself. Just as a note, they spread out a lot when in the oven especially when they’ve risen well in a warm room.

    Grandmother’s Parker House Rolls

    By: Linda Larsen, About.com Guide

    “This recipe works best if you have a large stand mixer. If you don’t, go ahead and make it anyway. Just beat and beat the dough really well as you add the flour. Nobody will ever make these as light and fluffy as my Grandmother Matha did, but every year I try!”

    Prep Time: 45 minutes
    Cook Time: 20 minutes
    Makes: 24 rolls

    Ingredients

    • 1 cup whole milk
    • 2 pkg. active dry yeast
    • 1/2 cup butter, melted plus more for topping rolls
    • 1/4 tsp – 1 tsp salt
    • 1/4 cup white sugar
    • 2 eggs
    • 4.5 – 5 cups all-purpose flour

    Procedure

    1. Warm the milk in a small saucepan over low heat. Make sure the milk is not too hot or else this will kill the yeast. Mix 1/3 of the milk with the dry yeast in a small bowl and let sit until bubbly, about 15 minutes.
    2. In a large bowl, combine remaining milk, melted butter, salt and sugar and beat until the sugar is dissolved. Then add the beaten eggs and bubbly yeast.
    3. Add flour, 1/4 cup at a time, beating on high speed of stand mixer. This step should take at least 5 minutes. When the dough gets too stiff to beat, stir in rest of flour by hand, if necessary, to make a soft dough.
    4. Turn out onto floured surface and knead for 5 minutes, until smooth and satiny. Place dough in greased bowl, turning to grease top. Cover and let rise in warm place until light and doubled in size, about 1 hour. (I have also covered the dough well and placed it in the refrigerator overnight. This works really well. Let the dough stand at room temperature for 1 hour before proceeding with recipe.)
    5. Punch down the dough and roll out on floured surface to 1/2″ thickness. Cut with 3″ round cookie cutter. Brush each roll with melted butter. Place in 2 greased 13×9″ pans, cover, and let rise again until double, about 45 minutes. (If you refrigerated the dough, this will take longer, about 60-75 minutes.)
    6. Bake rolls at 350 degrees F for 20-25 minutes or until golden brown. Remove from pan immediately and brush with more melted butter. Don’t use the same butter you used when forming the rolls – melt some fresh just for this step.

    Mmkay, so now you’ve got both recipes. Both are very versatile: apple pie recipe can be used to make mini open-faced tartlets and dinner rolls can be shaped into knots and even put in brioche molds.

    Apple Pie Filing with Cranberries

    Mini Apple Tarlets

    Up-Close and Beautiful!

    Bon Appetite! :)

    2 Responses to “From My Turkey Table to Your Christmas Table: Holiday Recipes”

    1. recipes December 25, 2009 at 8:42 pm #

      I am very happy to find this website, I could learn a few things that I do not understand. Can I post recipes of seafood porridge?

      • notebookworthy December 25, 2009 at 11:28 pm #

        Thank you for visiting my site! I hope you found it useful. I enjoy baking a lot and try to keep it as updated as I can.
        If you would like, you can post your recipe here. I have never tried making seafood porridge, but would love to give it a try. :)

    Leave a Reply

