Chocolate-Covered Almond Coffee Biscotti

8 Nov
Almond Biscotti

Here's the whole gang straight from the oven! (Recipe Below)

Alright, I’m totally rushing this post as I sit here in my pjs – sweatpants and a long t-shirt – with my glasses on. This is me right before I got to bed without any make-up or fixed hair. Bare with me on this because I just had to share this wonderful recipe.

Last weekend when I made the pumpkin spice cupcakes, I bought two big 29-ounce cans of Libby’s  100% Pure Pumpkin. I hadn’t looked at the recipe (bad idea) and so I just figured that it was on sale and so I’d big the two big cans. Wrong, wrong, wrong on my part. Two small cans of 15 ounces would have been much smarter because I only used about 1/4 of the big can for the cupcakes and I was left with so much! I had to put it in a plastic tupperware and hope that it would save. Knowing my sporadic baking times, I wasn’t sure if I was going to get to it before it rotted. So, I decided to make something with pumpkin this weekend.

Now, you may be thinking, “Okay, that’s a great pumpkin story, but how does this relate to your chocolate almond Coffee Biscotti?” And my answer is that well, it doesn’t…kind of… I was going to make a pumpkin biscotti but I couldn’t find any recipes. I knew that I had a recipe for cappuccino biscotti, almond biscotti, gingerbread biscotti (I am so trying this next weekend), and pistachio biscotti, but none for pumpkin; and to my dismay, I couldn’t find any online. I decided that I’d make a chocolate coated almond coffee biscotti instead and then just make pumpkin oatmeal cookies! (I haven’t baked them yet; the dough is still chilling so I’ll post up the recipe and photos as soon as I get to them :) ).

I’m quite the undecided baker if you’ve ever actually seen me in the kitchen. I run around the kitchen gathering supplies as I go – a big “no no” when baking. The professional baker always prepares all the ingredients in separate bowls and containers and then mixes everything in the main bowl while having everything within an arm’s length. But not me. I don’t really have the time to do all that prep work nor do I want to wash out all those containers holding the ingredients when the ingredients already have nice, pretty boxes (yes, that’s me rationalizing my laziness!) So, I’m quite the mad woman in the kitchen. This time was not necessarily different though I always make sure to read the directions before starting the mad goose hunt.

I have to say that I absolutely adore Stephanie Jaworski’s website: Joy of Baking. She does a wonderful job compiling recipes with captivating pictures.
I always check her site first because I know that her recipes come from reliable resources. I do use other sites too once in a while; you can find those in the left sidebar.

The Biscotti turned out absolutely wonderful not to mention it made the whole house – mom’s house – smell so good. My uncle came tonight and as soon as he walked in he said, “Hey! Someone’s baking again! Anything for me?” Unfortunately for him, I wasn’t done baking and had to actually stop baking the biscotti half-way. But, of course, I’ll be making him something soon. Anyhow, I decided to just bake the entire biscotti ‘log’ instead of spiting it into two logs like Stephanie says because the last time I made it, they turned out a little small to me. But when you make it, do whatever you like; experiment! The biscotti were a bit taller than the super skinny ones at the store, but who knows what kind of processing they undergo, y’know? They were so tasty, crunchy, and almond-y with a hint of coffee. Plus with the drizzled dark chocolate with powdered sugar on it, it was a bite of heaven!

I have one photo, but more are coming soon. I have realized that when I take photos at night the photos don’t come out at well as during the day even though I have great big spotlights. Go figure so I’ll take some pictures in the morning. Plus, I took the pictures before I glazed them with chocolate – another one of my last minute decisions.

Here’s the recipe since you’ve been so good and listened to me ramble and ramble. :)

Chocolate Almond Biscotti

Chocolate Almond Coffee Biscotti:
A Morning Dessert for the Coffee Drinkers

Adapted from Joy of Baking;
Makes about 28 small-medium biscotti

Ingredients:

Almond Biscotti

  • 1 cup (145 grams) blanched whole almonds, toasted and coarsely chopped – I only used 1/2 cup so I doubled the almond extract
  • 1 tsp (5 grams) baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 2 cups (260 grams) all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup (150 grams) granulated white sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp pure almond extract – I doubled this to 1 tsp b/c I only had 1/2 cup of almonds available; still tastes good :)
  • 1 tsp instant coffee

Chocolate Glaze

    3 ounces (85 grams) of semi-sweet or white chocolate1 teaspoon (5 grams) vegetable shortening

I don’t have an exact recipe for this me being the experimenter, but you can always melt milk chocolate (for a sweet glaze) or melt semi-sweet chocolate and then add powdered sugar to your preference.

Procedure

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 degrees C).  Toast almonds for 8-10 minutes or until lightly browned and fragrant.  Let cool and then chop coarsely.  Set aside.
  2. Reduce oven temperature to 300 degrees F (150 degrees C) and line a baking sheet with parchment paper. (I did not read carefully enough and actually baked them at 350 degrees and they still came out good :)
  3. In a small bowl lightly beat the eggs and extracts together.  Set aside.
    In the bowl of your electric mixer (or with a hand mixer or by hand) combine the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.  Beat until blended (about 30 seconds).  Gradually add the egg mixture and beat until a dough forms, adding almonds about halfway through. On a lightly floured surface roll dough into a log about 14 inches (35 cm) long and 3 – 4 inches (8 – 10 cm) wide. Transfer log to the prepared baking sheet and bake for 30-40 minutes, or until firm to the touch (log will spread during baking).  Remove from oven and let cool on a wire rack for about 10 minutes. I just made one large 10-inch-long log and baked it for about 35 minutes.
  4. Transfer log to a cutting board and, using a serrated knife, cut log into slices 1/2 inch (1.25 cm) thick on the diagonal.   Arrange evenly on baking sheet.  Bake 10 minutes, turn slices over, and bake another 10 minutes or until firm to the touch.  Remove from oven and let cool.  Store in an airtight container.
  5. Melt semi-sweet or white chocolate and vegetable shortening in a small metal bowl placed over a saucepan of simmering water. Stir until melted and smooth. When melted, place chocolate into a parchment triangle or small plastic bag with one edge cut.  Pipe onto the biscotti in a decorative pattern.  Alternatively, you can dip or spread with a small metal spatula one side of the biscotti with chocolate and let dry on a clean baking sheet. This is what I did with my melted semi-sweet chocolate.

I hope you enjoy the recipe and give it a try. It’s really quite good and if you’re looking to impress your boss or coworkers at work, then this will be a good hit for all those morning coffee drinkers. Have fun and enjoy talking over your cup of joe. :) As always, feel free to leave a comment if you made it! And if you want more biscotti recipes, go here.

Chocolate Almond Biscotti Recipe

Mmm...Just look at that perfect biscotti texture!


Leave a Reply

