Yet Another Savory Galette – Turkey, Gruyere, Green Beans

14 Oct

Gruyere, Turkey, Green Bean Galette

Turkey, Gruyere, Green Bean Galette

Class were extra short today so I only had to be at school until 11:30 a.m. meaning that I could go home-home early, relax – well not really but hey – and to pay some overdue respect for my beautiful kitchen with black and white! My beloved bench scraper and mixing bowls have been gathering dust in the cupboards. Poor things! Oh, how I’ve missed you so!

Since I had time, IGruyere Cheese whipped up some flaky pie crust/galette dough that I was going to use for dinner; I had decided that I’d surprise my mom whom I haven’t seen in a while with dinner. (For recipe, click here). I placed the finished dough in the freezer to harden. I patiently waited for the time to past. To keep busy, I did my homework and studied. I diligently worked glancing at the clock every 20 minutes. As I have come to know from experience with working with homemade pie dough, getting the dough to harden so that the butter does not melt is very important when trying to roll out the dough. Remember this if you want to end up with a workable dough that doesn’t smear or tear as easily.

Anywho, when the time came for the dough to come out of the freezer, I had actually lost Turkey, Green Bean, Potato Mixturetrack of time. It was already 4:10 pm when I stood up from the study desk so I knew that I would have to work fast to get dinner in time. I chopped up some fresh string beans, sliced a couple pieces of garlic, half a red onion, (thinly sliced) 3 red potatoes, and defrosted Jenny-O’s Lean Ground Turkey – a personal favorite substitute for ground beef. :) I sauteed them starting with the garlic, the onion, the ground turkey, and the potatoes. I tossed in the green beans and mushrooms last. I even diced up a tomato too and threw that it – I was getting real creative now. I was just rummaging through the refrigerator, chopping and slicing, and tossing everything into the wok I had at home. The smell was beautiful. After the mushpot had cooled down, I added in 1/2 cup (4 ounces) of Gruyere cheese, pepper, Italian seasoning, garlic powder, and some Cayenne pepper powder. This is what gives the galette its powerful flavor. (But by no means is the flavor overpowering. It’s rather flavorful in a subtle way).

Of course, before I started my crazy rampage, I rolled out the dough and preheated the oven to 400 F so that once I was done and the mushpot was filled to the brim, the galette could just go in and cook for its usual 45 minutes. Oh, and yes, I did have the one-egg wash for the glaze over the dough. This is what gives the crust its glossy look.

Here was the experimental outcome. I tried not to over power the galette with too much of any one thing, and I think it came out pretty well. It sort of ended up burning a bit, but it was so delicious anyhow. Plus my mom gave it a thumbs up. I couldn’t tell whether she was happy that I had come home for a surprise or that I had made her a surprise dinner, or both.

Leave a Reply

