Thin Crust Pizza (revisisted)

18 Sep

Hello! Long time, no write! (Wow, that’s exceptionally bad grammar). I realize that I’ve been away for about two weeks/fourteen days/336 hours. So I’ve come to remedy the situation…

Well, on a random Friday night when I was too tired to go out – frankly, I’ve forgotten the effort in walking from campus to campus – I decided that for dinner, I’d make myself and my roommate a pizza. I would have totally forgotten about the pizza had I not dared to look into the depths of my freezer. (I don’t really use the freezer very often so it was quite the adventure. I ended up throwing away tons of junk in there). I still wasn’t sure what exactly I had come across because it was a white mass in a ziplock bad. Tip #1: Always label and date the bags.

I figured that I hadn’t made any cookie dough lately nor did it look like cookie dough so I assumed that it was some kind of bread. I popped it out, defrosted it, and rolled it out. Instantly, I smelled the olive oil and even spotted the pieces of parsley I had added in two weeks before. Then, it hit me, it’s my pizza dough! (Recipe here) I was saved; I wouldn’t starve. My good old relationship with food was rekindled as ideas for toppings jumped into my mind: chicken-bell-peppers-cheese-tomato-sauce-ground-turkey-onions-cheese-and-anything-edible-in-the-fridge.

I was disappointed to find the rotisserie chicken I had bought was basically all bone, so I settled for lean ground turkey. I sauteed it with onions, bell peppers, and garlic seasoning it with black pepper and Italian spices like parsley, rosemary, and basil. The smell filled my dorm making my stomach rumble. “Feeeeeeeed meeeeee….”, it gurgled.

I lightly oiled my baking sheet and placed the dough on it. I spread the tomato sauce on the dough, then took the sauteed concoction, drizzled two different types of cheeses – Parmesan and fat-free cheddar (post on this later) –  and mounded it on the pizza dough. I could see the result already: delicious cheesy mess. :)

I popped the pizza in the preheated oven and out came a wonderful cheese delight. I shared with my roommate, of course; I can’t – rather, shouldn’t – eat it all by myself!

Thin Crust Pizza: Lean Ground Turkey, Bell Peppers, Dual Cheese Power

Yum. My tummy was happy. If you want to try the recipe yourself, then check the link above or click here.

3 Responses to “Thin Crust Pizza (revisisted)”

  1. black hattitude October 14, 2009 at 10:52 pm #

    hello,

    Thank you for the great quality of your blog, each time i come here, i’m amazed.

    black hattitude.

    • Nell October 28, 2009 at 7:46 pm #

      Thank you! I try my best to update the blog as often as I can. :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Kraft Fat Free Shredded Cheddar Cheese, reviewed « Notebook Worthy: Anecdotes of My Love Affair with Food - September 19, 2009

    […] and left the store ready to try my new cheese. It was this new cheese that prompted me to make the thin crust pizza dough mentioned in the previous […]

Leave a Reply

