The Reason for the Lack of Baking:Fried Rice (Original Recipe)

18 Aug

If you’ve been keeping up with me or looked at my previous archive, you’ll have realized that for a couple of weeks, I wrote about new recipes every few days. Why the sudden lack of recipes? What could possibly be keeping me from my one true love: food? Or the kitchen?

Well, it’s because I have quenched my need to bake by cooking a bowl of (lean) turkey fried rice every morning.

Ground Turkey Fried Rice

The Story Behind My Fried Rice
(recipe wayyyy below)

At first, my mom suggested that I make myself fried rice in the morning since I was looking for new breakfast ideas. Immediately, I thought, “Fried rice? Fried rice? Who makes fried rice for breakfast? It’s heavy and bulky. It’s so big. I like my usual breakfast of a piece of wheat toast, 1 egg, a yogurt, and a bowl of fruit. Who wants fried rice?” I didn’t tell her that because she wouldn’t understand so instead I said, “Okay, thanks, Mom. I’ll think about it”. She insisted that I try making myself fried rice so I told her that I would try it even though I detested the very thought of it.

The very next morning as I held my usual piece of bread ready to toast it, I saw the bowl of long grain rice that I had sitting in my refrigerator. Guilt starting creeping upon me. I knew that she would ask me how fried rice for breakfast was and I knew that I couldn’t lie to her. For one, it was my mom, I’d feel too bad. Second, she’s know I was lying. Third, I’m a terrible liar. Put those all together and it spells disaster. So I placed the bread back into the breadbox and proceeded to get the rice bowl.

I wasn’t quite sure how to start off making fried rice espeically since I hadn’t researched any recipes or watched any videos. The only experience I had was watching the chefs at Benihanna make their fried rice and how fried rice at Chinese and Thai restaurants tasted.

I remembered watching the Benihanna chef cook  the egg first so that’s what I did. I heated a small nonstick pan with less than a teaspoon of vegetable oil.  I scrambled the egg in a separate bowl while the pan was heating. Then once the pan was hot, I poured the egg mixture in the pan and watched the egg sizzle. While the egg was cooking, I defrosted the 25 ounce packet of lean ground turkey in the microwave. I heated the entire package for about 3 minutes since it came straight from the freezer.

To make scrambled eggs – rather egg – I followed a technique that I saw online. Let the egg cook a little bit so that the bottom is firm but the top is still liquid egg. Using a spatula, move the edges of the egg to the center so that the liquid egg spills over and starts to cook. Once the scramble eggs are made, I placed them on a paper towel to keep warm while I was going to cook the ground turkey.

I used about 1/5 of the package of turkey (5 ounces). By now, it was soft and ready to cook. I put the turkey into the same small nonstick pan that I cooked the egg without any extra oil. The turkey looked like it had it’s own juices so I figured that I could skip out on the oil. If I ended up needed it, I’d add in some. But to my relief, I didn’t need the oil. :)

Once the turkey was in the pan, I started to smoosh the meat so it wasn’t in one big clump. When it was all smooshed, I kept moving the meat around in the pan so it didn’t burn. I took a break and risked my chances of burning the meat, I went into the spices cabinet took out ground pepper, garlic powder, and parsley. I sprinkled out some black pepper on the cooking meat to flavor it. When the meat was cooked thoroughly cooked and well browned, I added in enough rice to fill the pan. (Later, I measured that amount to fill the pan to be about 1 cup of rice).

Now, I was really confused on how to know if the rice was cooked or not, but then after about five minutes of cooking with the meat, it started making popping noises like popcorn, only it wasn’t popping around. Thank goodness because it would have made a big mess. I quickly sprinkled some parsley and some garlic powder. I must have used about 1.5 teaspoons of garlic powder. I love garlic. :)

I added in the egg and of chopped it in the pan with the spatula. You should have seen it: I was just going by sheer instinct. I added in a bit more pepper to give the fried rice some more flavor.

After cooking it the turkey, rice, and egg concoction for about two minutes, I turned off the stove and tasted a spoonful. It tasted so delicious and flavorful and nothing that I’ve ever tasted before. Let’s just say that I’ve had my bowl of turkey fried rice every morning for 3 weeks excluding the weekends since I like to go out for breakfast. But man, that fried rice was so good. :) My mom was right (as usual).

Just in case, you’d like to try my original homemade recipe, here it is.

Ground Turkey Fried Rice

Nell’s Original Healthy Turkey Fried Rice

Makes about 1.5 cups of fried rice; good for 1

Ingredients

  • 5 ounces of lean ground turkey
  • 1 cup of rice (white, long grain, or brown); personally I use brown now
  • 1.5 teaspoons of ground black pepper; mostly for taste
  • 1.5 teaspoons of garlic powder; mostly for taste
  • 1 tablespoon of parsley
  • 1 teaspoon of vegetable oil
  • 1 egg

Directions

  1. Defrost the ground turkey. If you bought a package of 25 ounces, then take the package and warm it up in the microwave for about 3 minutes, give or take depending on the power of your microwave.  Or you could always set out the package and let it defrost by itself. It’d take a while and I’m not too sure about the exact time.
  2. Heat the small nonstick pan with the oil on low to medium heat. Scramble the egg in a bowl and pour into the pan. Follow the video for exact instructions to make scrambled eggs.
  3. Once your egg is done, place the egg on a paper towel to keep it warm.
  4. Place the 5 ounces of ground turkey into the same pan with medium heat. Kind of mush it and break it up into small pieces. Add in about 1/2 teaspoon of the ground pepper and continue to brown the ground turkey into its well cooked with no more pink.
  5. Add in about 1 cup of pre-cooked rice into the pan with the meat. Add in the the rest of the spices. Feel free to add more if need be.
  6. Cook for about 5 minutes on medium heat before adding in the scrambled egg so the egg doesn’t burn. After the 5 minutes, add in egg. Break up the scrambled egg with your spatula or whatever utensil you are using.
  7. Cook for another 2 minutes on low medium heat. Taste the rice and more spices if you need too. Then you’re done! Serve warm.

I love this fried rice because it makes a great breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Double the recipe if making for two people; this is originally for 1 person. What I like about it is that it’s low in oil, but tastes so great.

Leave a Reply

