American Tart: Banana, Strawberry, Blueberry Galette

6 Aug


By the looks of it, you might be thinking… “Hey…there’s some red…white…and blue… Oh! I get it! It’s an American Tart! Gotcha! …But wait, it’s past July 4th…”

Yes, I’ll agree with you, it’s a great idea for July 4th. Had I realized that earlier I would have made it then. I didn’t actually notice the colors until I was assembling the galette.

The story behind the galette is quite simple. If you’ve read my last post, then you’ll know that I made the savory onion, potato, Gruyere galette about a week ago. When I made the crust or that galette, I had made a second one for another galette. Since I had three ripe bananas at home and an abundance of blueberries, I decided that I’d make a galette with those two items. The strawberries came in at the last minute.

My favorite part about this galette is that because I used ripe bananas, I only used 1/4 cup of sugar for the filling. :)

If you’d like to make the recipe, then here it is! Just remember that this is my own experimental recipe!

American Tart: Banana, Strawberry, Blueberry Galette Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 flaky tart/pie dough from here
  • 3 ripe bananas (#7 at the right), sliced and chilled
  • about 5 or 6 medium strawberries, sliced from top to bottom
  • about 1/4 cup of ripe fresh blueberries
    I suggest fresh because it bakes quicker; otherwise, frozen blueberries at room tempt should work fine
  • 1/4 cup of white granulated sugar
  • 1 egg for egg wash

Directions:

  1. Roll out the pie dough into a 10in circle, about 1/4 inch thick as best you can; galettes don’t have to be perfectly circular because you will end up folding the sides later. Place rolled out dough on a baking sheet either lined with parchment paper or greased. Chill about the dough on baking sheet for at least 30 minutes while you prepare the filling.
  2. Preheat the oven to 400 F. Place the rack in the middle.
  3. Place the sliced strawberries and blueberries in a medium size bowl. Add the sugar and mix just until the sugar dissolves and the natural juices of the berries show.
  4. Take the dough and baking sheet from the refridgerator. Arrange the bananas pointing towards the center of the dough. The bananas should be easier to work with since they’ve been chilling. If you didn’t chill them, don’t worry. You’ll just have a stickier mess. :) Arrange the strawberries facing outwards and add the blueberries around it. It should look something like this.
  5. Fold up the sides of the tart so that it’s pleated and looks pretty. The berries will get very juicey if you placed the on top like I did, so make sure that your crust comes up pretty high, unlike mine below. I didn’t fold the tart high enough so the juices spilled out on the baking sheet, which resulted in a big mess.
  6. See? The blueberries are peaking out. Try covering them or use less bananas.

  7. Brush the tart dough with the whisked egg. This will make the tart a golden brown color.
  8. Place tart in preheated oven and bake for about 37 – 40 minutes or until crust is a golden brown color and fruits are somewhat soft.
  9. Once done, let it cool on a cooling rack for at least 10 minutes. Otherwise serve warm and garnish with ice cream, whipped cream, or fresh berries. :)
  10. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

