Morning Endeavors: Fat-Free Blueberry Muffins & Breakfast Burritos

26 Jul
Fat-Free Blueberry Muffins
from Krusteaz’s Mix


I love blueberry muffins. I’ve fallen in love with a Buttermilk Blueberry Muffin recipe from Joy of Baking. The muffins puff up and have almost a crunchy texture with a rustic look. Beautiful and wonderful taste. These aren’t like the giant ones from the store though; I have yet to find a recipe like that. If there are any suggestions, I’m totally up to the challenge. But anyway…

Making blueberry muffins has a been a kind of hassle for me because I usually buy the frozen blueberries because the raw ones are just always expensive and because I feel guilty eating them when it calls for lots of sugar or butter. But then, I found something the other day while at my local grocery store…

Krusteaz’s Fat-Free Blueberry Muffins with just 130 calories per muffin. ($3.5 per box; makes 11 muffins)

I was skeptical, but desperate for blueberry muffins. I grabbed the mix from the shelf and proceeded to buy it before I convinced myself otherwise.

I prepared the mix that very day and out came my beautiful blueberry muffins. :)

This is what the packaged blueberries looked like. I’ll agree that it didn’t look like much when I first saw it, but I just continued on determined to make blueberry muffins.

The muffins reached over the top of the paper liners, but not enough to call them “super top” muffins.

The inside was moist, soft, and delectable almost cake-like but a bit denser. The blueberries turned out perfectly fine, not too many streaks of blue when I folded them in. The overall result was that I’d make these again and again because it was so soft with the right amount of sweetness that I still can’t believe that these are fat free. Not as good as the buttermilk blueberry muffins I’m accustomed to making, but good enough to sustain me while I can eat guilt free. :)
—4.75/5

Healthy Breakfast Burritos
made w/ Mission Carb Balance Burritos

I couldn’t help myself; I was just on a roll while at the grocery store that day when I bought the blueberry mix. I happened upon Mission Carb Balance Whole Wheat Burritos (package of 8).

Nutrition Info Here.

I love whole grains and have given up eating refined grains except for the occasional buttermilk pancakes and english muffin. As for my pastas and toast at home, it’s all whole wheat so naturally I was tickled when I saw these. Burritos are perfect for summer when you start grilling because it’s so easy to just toss things in, roll it up, and then chow down.

These turned out perfect for my morning endeavor making breakfast. They were flat and thick, not fluffy or puffy like some of the other burritos I’ve come across.

Here’s some pictures of my healthy endeavor!

Turkey-n-Egg Burrito

Filling Ingredients:
– 2 slices Hillshire Farms Deli Sliced Honey Roasted Turkey
– 1/4 cup mixed greens
– 1 egg, scrambled w/ a handful of chopped chives and pepper and salt to taste
– 1/4 cup mix of sauteed and fresh, sliced white button mushroom
– 1/3 cup Thai fried rice from the Pagan Restaurant; any (fried) rice will do
*because of the Thai fried rice, I didn’t add any salsa, but I suggest that you do to give your burrito a good kick

Spam-n-Egg Burrito


Filling Ingredients:
– 2 eggs, scrambled w/ a handful of chives and pepper and salt to taste
– 1/4 cup sauteed white button mushrooms
– 3 slices of Hormel’s white turkey spam
– 1/3 cup Thai fried rice

Enjoy a healthier, lighter breakfast!

P.S. If you have a sweet tooth early in the morning, try making the ‘Lighter’ Pound Cake Loaf in my previous post. :)

2 Responses to “Morning Endeavors: Fat-Free Blueberry Muffins & Breakfast Burritos”

  1. sweetie December 31, 2009 at 9:26 am #

    the muffins look great and they’re pretty low calorie and sugar. it’s frustrating when the box can achieve what whole ingredients can’t!!! have you found the trick to making muffins w/a very full top?

    • Nell December 31, 2009 at 3:53 pm #

      The muffins not only looked great but they were tasty too. :) As for making muffins with a full top, I sometimes add 1/2 teaspoon extra of baking soda or baking powder. However, using too much of those ingredients can cause the muffins to lose their wonderful taste, so you can also just add more batter into the muffin cup. (If the original recipe says it’ll make 12 muffins, then make 11 and stick the extra batter in the other cups). If you do this, then just make sure to grease the outside of the cup so when the muffin bakes over the top of the pan, it doesn’t get stuck.

      Hope this helps and happy new year! :)

Leave a Reply

