Ah Hah! I’ve Found It: The Perfect Pound Cake Recipe!

26 Jul

I got a special request to make pound cake the other day and at first I wasn’t too thrilled at the thought. I’ve tried about two or three different versions of pound cake that didn’t turn out very well, like the “Kentucky Butter Cake“. (This one wasn’t too bad, but it turned out more like a bread than a cake so I was disappointed with it). Then you can stumble upon countless sour cream recipes, but I don’t like the taste of sour cream – yes, I know that you don’t really taste it in the baked goods, but I’m still not a fan – and I don’t have any at home – surprise, surprise. So, I’ve always found pound cake as a disappointing endeavor.

Until now.

Because by doing some research and surfing the web, I have found the perfect, moist, tender, sweet, pound cake loaf. I’m so tempted to call this a cake because of the soft texture, but I must say that it is denser than a sponge cake. However, unlike the Kentucky Butter ‘Cake’, this loaf is so much more lighter. It is the lightest pound cake I have found while still having that pound cake taste. In fact, it is also ‘lighter’ in another sense: it doesn’t have as much fat thanks to the addition of the yogurt!

If you’d like to join me in my “Ah Hah!”-“Eureka!” moment, here’s my recipe adapted from here. (At first, I wasn’t too sure if I’d use this recipe simply found on About, but with two good reviews and only using 2 eggs, I’d figure that I might as well try it. And let me say, it was worth the try).


Recipe for Moist Pound Cake Loaf

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup fat-free vanilla yogurt
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cup sifted all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2/3 cup nonfat milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract


Procedure:

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.
  2. Grease and flour a loaf pan.
  3. First add butter into a medium bowl. Add in sugar while creaming it. It should be light and fluffy. This step is important because it ensures that the finished product is light and airy.
    Add in the vanilla yogurt and combine well. Add in eggs one at a time. Beat well after each addition.
  4. Sift all the dry ingredients together.
  5. Add the sifted ingredients to the butter mixture alternating with the milk. Start and end of the flour. Do not over mix.
  6. Pour batter into prepared loaf pan. Bake in preheated oven for 60 minutes, or until a wooden pick comes out of the center clean.

Leave a Reply

