Day Off = Shopping, Analysis, Baking: Poppy Seed Bread

18 Jul

With school over, I have had my first afternoon with nothing to do.

Well, that’s not true. I did spend time eating a long lunch with a good friend and some shopping in San Francisco’s Japan Town. There’s a new store called Daiso that sells everything for only $1.50. I couldn’t believe it! Beautiful bowls (made in China, Taiwan, and Japan) for $1.50. Tart molds (made in Japan) for $1.50. Lanterns? $1.50. Candy, food, plant pots? $1.50. I bought a tart mold.

Pretty nifty, ay? We’ll see how it does when I actually use it though. I’ll let you know and post pictures of the success or disaster. x__x

After shopping and browsing, I headed home to turn on the computer and relax, something I hadn’t been able to do in 6 weeks, though my July 4th weekend was a weekend in heaven. :) With school and classes, I hadn’t much time to relax and enjoy my summer. But now, with school over, I have much more time to bake, relax, and work on my own pace. I had been taking an accelerated honors course this summer. Yes, I know, it was a crazy idea. But it paid off! I took my final today, which I honestly thought that I bombed – and I mean really bombed, like I didn’t know a single thing on there. With previous knowledge and some killer guessing skills, I managed to not only pass, but get a 94%! My overall grade? A 95%. *Takes a bow*. I am quite proud.


Poppy Seed Cake

After resting awhile, I decided that I would have a late dinner. It was just a bowl of soup from the can – not impressive, I know, but I had something else I was focusing. This brings me to my next topic: Poppy Seed Bread. (Though I made it into a cake).

I couldn’t wait to try the new tart mold so I found a recipe. I had been craving a poppy seed bread for a while now, so I decided that no time was more perfect than now.

The tart mold was a perfect mold! I’ve never used another tart pan but this was perfect. The mold was thick and seemed to be high quality. My cake didn’t burn and it was easily dented or bent.

As for the poppy seed bread, it turned out pretty well. It was soft, moist, and sweet. It might have been better as an actual cake recipe or with some lemon, but it was good for a first try. I only made 1/3 of the recipe because I figured that even 1/2 would be too much for the 8 inch tart mold. I wasn’t even sure if it was going to work well, but it did. It worked out really well.

Isn’t it just wonderful looking? And of course, it was so tasty,too.

I suggest serving it was vanilla bean ice cream.
The two compliment each other quite well.

Recipe for Poppy Seed Bread
Credit: All Recipes

*When I made 1/3 of the recipe, I used the same amount of almond extract and baking soda. I also greased the tart pan with a small amount of vegetable oil. You can also flour it if you want though you might not need too.

I hope you enjoy! :)

Leave a Reply

