Breakfast Highlight

7 Jun

I am so full. Amazingly stuffed. No more food could possibly enter me right now. I am most proud though because I just cooked the most delicious comfort breakfast food and it turned out wonderful!

Since I love to cook, I usually come up with something for breakfast during the weekends when I have the most time so last night I tried to think of what to make. (I had to think ahead of time because if I had desired to make some kind of yeast bread like cinnamon rolls, then I needed to know what time to wake up).

After surfing the web for breakfast ideas, I came upon a great site: http://www.foodwishes.blogspot.com/ Go there for any of your cooking wishes, needs, and whims. :) Props to Chef John.

At this website, I found out how to make good crepes, french toast, pancakes, and corned beef hash! Yes, I know that I just caught you off guard on the last one; most people don’t think of corned beef hash as a great breakfast food, but trust me, it’s really good. (By the way, if you want to know how to correctly “fold” things into batter, check out the pancake link).

Follow his directions for the any of these great breakfast items and you’ll have a superb breakfast, full stomach, and satisfied guests. :)


Ingredients:

1 tbsp butter
1 1/2 pounds cooked corned beef, diced
1 1/2 pounds white potatoes, peeled quartered
1/4 cup prepared roasted tomato salsa
2 clove garlic, crushed
1 bunch green onions, white parts chopped, green parts reserved for garnish
salt and fresh ground black pepper to taste

*For my corned beef hash, I used corned beef from the can, about two small potatoes, half an onion diced, and salt and pepper to taste. I omitted the salsa, butter, and garlic because I’m not too fond of salsa in my corned beef hash, but if you don’t mind, then of course, add it in! Otherwise, I basically followed his directions exactly.

Corned Beef Hash from Foodwishes on Vimeo.

*All photos are from Chef John’s website*

I wish I remembered to take photos before I ate my version, but it was just too good looking. :)

One Response to “Breakfast Highlight”

  1. Tita Susan July 27, 2010 at 2:41 am #

    Wow! Really so delicious, I feel hungry now! We hope you can cook here w/us soon ha! Erika Danielle! ang sarap nagutom ako (tagalog word)

    Love you always,
    Tita Susan & Michael (cousin)

Leave a Reply

